Five Cabinet Secretary nominees are today facing the Jubilee dominated the Committee on Appointments of the National Assembly starting this morning with the other four others scheduled to be vetted on Friday.

Although there are five affidavits and six letters from members of public raising concerns against four of the nominees, pundits have already ruled out any problems for any of the nominees.

Public Service CS nominee Prof Margaret Kobia will be the first to face the panel according to a program seen by Kenya Live News.

The committee on vetting comprises of only Jubilee MPs after NASA refused to recognise Uhuru’s government and decline to name it’s nominees to the committee.

Nominees for the position of the Chief Administrative Secretary will be exempted from the process even though the constitutionality of the office being challenged in court.

Other nominees for cabinet secretary positions who will be defending their suitability include Farida Karoney of Lands, John Munyes of Petroleum and Peter Munya of East Africa Community.

MPs will be interrogating the suitability of the nominees based on integrity, academic and professional backgrounds, after which they have 14 days to approve or reject names.

Thirdway Alliance party leader Ekuru Aukot and Kenya Human Rights Commission Chair George Kegoro have also requested to appear before the committee to discuss general issues on the vetting process.

Kegoro’s input is expected to be the only significant challenge the nominees may face with observers dismissing Aukot as an attention seeker.

Five other nominees among them Monica Juma for Foreign Affairs, Keriako Tobiko of Environment are expected to appear before the Justin Muturi led committee on Friday.

The Parliamentary Committee on Vetting members include;

1. Justin Muturi – Speaker of National Assembly/Chairperson

2. Moses Cheboi – Deputy Speaker of National Assembly

3. Aden Duale – Leader of the Majority Party

4. Jimmy Angwenyi (Kitutu Chache North)

5. Benjamin Washiali (Mumias East)

6. Cecily Mbarire (Nominated)

7. Kimani Ichung’wah (Kikuyu)

8. Joyce Emanikor (Turkana)

9. Sabina Wanjiru (Muranga

10. David Ole Sankok (Nominated)

11. Rachael Nyamai (Kitui South)

12. Sarah Korere (Laikipia North)

13. Lydia Mizighi (Taita Taveta)

14. Khatib Mwashetani (Lunga Lunga)

15. David Pkosing (Pokot South)

16. Lilian Cheptoo (West Pokot)

17. David Gikaria (Nakuru Town East)

18. William Chepkut (Ainabkoi)

19. Yusuf Hassan (Kamukunji)