By KLN reporter

National Super Alliance designated candidate in the Kitutu South parliamentary election Richard Omomoima Onyonka is the new Member of Parliament elect for Kitutu South Constituency.

Onyonka running on a Ford-Kenya ticket won by landslide when he garnered 10,122 votes against his nearest challenger Anthony Kibagendi of Jubilee Party’s who garnered 5,074 votes. Kibagendi was followed by Orange Democratic Movement’s Samuel Omwando who garnered 4,324 votes.

Andrew Maubi of Wiper had 2191 votes while Henry Morara of KANU had 201 votes. PDP’s James Onkangi garnered 100 votes while Justus Mochoge of Amani National Congress garnered only 60 votes.

Kitutu Chache South has a 59,079 total registered voters in the 115 polling stations within five wards. Constituency Returning Officer Hilda Imbo declared Onyonka winner at shortly after midnight.

NASA co-principals threw their weight behind Onyonka following an agreement to back one of the candidates from the constituent parties.

The IEBC was forced to defer the Kitutu Chache South elections following the untimely death of Jubilee candidate Leonard Gwaro Mwamba in July, meaning the constituency did not vote on August 2017 general elections.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here